True Self – Reiki

The deepest meaning of Reiki is "True Self."

Reiki is one of the greatest secrets in the world and, yet it’s one of the highest vibrations of energies which is love.
Reiki is not a religion. It is a healing practice founded by Mikao Usui (1865-1926). Usui climbed Mt Kurama in Japan to meditate and fast for 21 days. During his 21-day retreat, he was spiritually awakened and felt ‘great’ Reiki over his head. Sacred golden symbols were revealed to him which are still used today to initiate the natural flow of spiritual energy for healing the body, mind and spirit. In 1922, Usui established the first Reiki institute in Tokyo. Reiki treatments were given to people who came from far and near.

Reiki is living spiritual energy which is always around and within us. The Reiki practitioner is a channel for this healing energy. It does not come from the practitioner but rather flows through them. The practitioner’s hands can come in direct contact with their client or slightly above the client. Reiki practitioners also perform distance healings which have proven to be effective and powerful. Using crystals and gems combined with channeling Reiki is another powerful healing modality.

Today, there are many Reiki organizations throughout the world that are bringing awareness to others about this unique healing modality that gently initiates relaxation and calmness allowing the natural flow of spiritual energy to connect with the body, mind and spirit.

There are three teaching levels to Reiki:

Shoden Level I (Beginner teachings)
First degree Reiki is for the practice of self-treatment to initiate healing and well-being. At this level the student is headed toward self-discovery and the basics about helping others.

Okuden Level II (Hidden or inner teachings)
Second degree Reiki is for the practice of treating others to initiate healing and well-being. Students learn three mantras and three symbols which are meant for enhancing the energy flow. The inner qualities such as Earth, Heaven and Heart energies begin to be discovered at this level.

Shinpiden Level III (Mystery teachings)
Third degree Reiki is for personal development and teaches the student how to perform attunements. At this level the student moves into discovering more about the mysteries of life.

There are five elements at the third level:

1. Developing spiritual and mental focus (occurs by practicing the precepts)

2. Techniques and meditations (taught throughout all three levels)

3. Hands-on healing (for self or others for the purpose of healing)

4. Four Mantras and symbols (three in level 2 and one in level 3)

5. Attunements for levels I, II and III

Usui’s five precepts are meant to be practiced every moment of every day.

For today only:

Do not anger – anger is illusion

Do not worry – fear is distraction

Be humble – true to your way and your being

Be honest in your work – true and dedicated to spiritual progress and everything you do

Be compassionate to yourself and others – awareness of the connection among all things within the universe

Mikao Usui’s precepts are the foundation of Reiki. They are the key to the four other elements and without them the whole Reiki system would fail. The precepts serve as a guide to help students begin their path to self-healing. Usui’s precepts are universal and support any personal or spiritual beliefs.


When the student/practitioner is able to focus on the present moment, they become purposefully and energetically guided on their spiritual path.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


My Books


Through this story, a young girl discovers a new and colorful world.

Send Me A Message